Heart of England League

2017 Fixtures, dates & venues

Division 1 Division 2
Date Host Date Host
Sunday 7th May Radley Sunday 7th May Bromsgrove & Redditch
Saturday 3rd June Worcester Saturday 3rd June Kettering
Sunday 2nd July Rugby & Northampton Sunday 2nd July Telford
Division 3 Division 4
Date Host Date Host
Sunday 7th May Corby Sunday 7th May Saffron + Sparkhill & Harborough
Saturday 3rd June Kidderminster & Stourport Saturday 3rd June Nuneaton
Sunday 2nd July Dudley & Stourbridge Sunday 2nd July Witney & Droitwich




About the League

The Heart of England League is known as the "friendly league" and was formed in 1978 to give Midland based clubs local competition to a broader range of athletes including non-scoring Under 11s.
The original 5 clubs that formed the league were Banbury, Leamington, Rugby, Daventry and Nuneaton. Today there are 28 clubs competing in 3 matches across 4 divisions with promotion and relegation at the end of the season.
There isn't an elected Management Committee. The league has always been run in a more relaxed, ad hoc, consensus way by the competing clubs.
Martin Smith (Droitwich AC) is the Treasurer and Paul Bearman (Stratford upon Avon AC) is the Leagues Co-ordinator and has been co-opted to chair the AGM in recent years.
Decisions to change rules or the timetable etc. are suggested by the clubs and any changes are made after consultation and approval (or not) by a majority decision of the clubs.